India’s Minister of Health and Family Welfare bestows first Modi Prix Galien Prizes

The transformation of India's healthcare landscape can be attributed to the government’s strategic focus and keen emphasis on the burgeoning sector, writes Former DBT Secretary Dr. Manju Sharma. Read about it in CNBC.

dropdown-iconBest Startup / Digital Health Solution

Neowarm - Parisodhana Technologies

dropdown-iconBest Medical Technology

Pichia Pastoris platform - Biocon Biologics

dropdown-iconBest Product for Rare / Orphan Diseases

CAR-T Cell Therapy - Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

dropdown-iconBest Biotechnology Product

Trinbelimab - BSV

dropdown-iconBest Academic / Public Sector

NeuroMentor - All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIMS) & Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)
Modi Prix Galien India Laureates 2024
Modi_Galien_India_2024_Ceremony_Satish and Minister

(l-r): Rajyalakshmi Rao, Sir Satish Modi, Prof. Satya Pal Singh Baghel, Honorable Union Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare

Modi Prix Galien India 2024 Ceremony
Modi Prix Galien India 2024 Ceremony
Prof. Paramjit Khurana, Member Secretary
(l-r): Bruno Cohen, Cynthia Ekberg Tsai
Modi Prix Galien India 2024 Ceremony

Panel 2: Generational health is not possible without women’s health
(l-r): Aishwarya Ravi, Sanskriti Thakur (moderator), Surbhi Modi, Niveditha Viswanathan


Panel 3: Addressing pandemics through partnerships
(l-r): Krishna Sarma (moderator), Thomas Cueni, Sudharshan Jain, Vignesh Shivnath, Jasdeep Singh Sood, Rajinder Suri


Panel 4: The next frontier in global medicine: advancements in medicine, digital solutions, and biotechnology
(l-r): Shuchin Bajaj, Pushpanjali R. Chawla, Stuti Jalan (Moderator), Shailja Mittal, Peter Pushparaj


Panel 1: Scaling up GenAI in life sciences: from pilots to production
(l-r): Saurabh Jain (moderator), Sridhar Anjanappa, Anirudh Ranganathan, Suresh Subramanian

Galien Forum India 2024
(l-r): Sir Satish Modi, Bruno Cohen, Anil Khanna

Submission is a simple, easy process. A quick fact sheet and explanatory video of the submission process is available on demand.


Prix Galien India presented by the Gujar Mal Modi Science Foundation (President: Satish Kumar Modi)

As early as the sixth century BC, Sushruta, recognized as the “father of surgery” in ancient India, introduced pioneering operations and healing techniques.

He authored Sushruta-samhita, the first important treatise on surgery in the country providing a crucial source of information on matters of surgery, toxicology, pharmacology and pediatrics.

With its long and rich history, the India of today has the academic and scientific infrastructure, the R&D and technology transfer frameworks, the entrepreneurship and the funding to predict double digit growth rates in our current decade. It is no wonder that the world is looking at India with anticipation for new breakthroughs in health.

Prix Galien salutes the nation that has forged a formidable growth strategy in the life science sector since 1970, the year Prix Galien was founded, to become the “World’s Pharmacy” as it is often referred to today. India’s thriving life science sector represents the highest number of FDA approved production facilities outside the US and the country only continues to grow.

The Prix Galien India will be fundamental in:

  1. Recognizing and promoting excellence and through recognition, while enhancing and encouraging a cycle of scientific research excellence and innovation.
  2. Fostering a culture of innovation which values creative thinking, risk taking and the development of solutions that address societal challenges and contribute to economic growth.
  3. Showcasing India’s scientific excellence and potential on the international stage.

We look forward to inducting India’s distinguished innovators to the Galien Foundation Hall of Fame in 2024. The winners will join an illustrious list of  innovations benefitting human health since the prize’s inception in France in 1970. It is with pride that the Galien Foundation chronicles and honors the winning teams and encourages individuals having working on breakthrough products, devices and solution to become Foundation members and thus perpetuate the importance of their innovation to the advancement of human health.

Prix Galien India Awards Committee

The Prix Galien India Awards committee include 12 esteemed leaders in the life sciences in India. The committee is a neutral body and follows the Prix Galien India Charter (that will be released soon) in selecting the best of the best in biopharmaceutical research and development. The selection committee will be supported by two subcomittees that will short list finalists to the competition.

Professor Manju Sharma


Professor Manju Sharma, Former Secretary to the Govt. of India, Department of Biotechnology. Chair New Initiative, NASI, Allahabad


Dr Alok Dhawan, Centre for Biomedical Research. Lucknow
Shri Anil Khanna, Sr. Vice President, GM Modi Science Foundation, New Delhi
Prof Paramjit Khurana, Member Secretary
Prof Indranil Manna, Vice Chancellor of BIT Mesra, Ranchi
Prof Ashwani Nangia, Dept. Of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad
Prof Narinder Kr. Mehra, Honorary Emeritus scientist of Indian council of Medical Research & Former Dean and National chair of All India Institute of Medical Sciences
Dr Himanshu Pathak, Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) & Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)
Dr Ram Gopal Rao, Vice Chancellor, BITS Pilani
Dr Shiv Kumar Sarin, President, National Academy of Medical Sciences
Prof Anurag Sharma, IIT Delhi – Member Secretary
Dr Sanjay Singh, Chief Executive Officer . Gennova Biopharmaceuticals Ltd.
Dr Rohit Srivastava, IIT-Mumbai
Dr Renu Swarup, Former Secretary, DBT, New Delhi
Prof Umesh Waghmare, Professor in the Theoretical Sciences Unit of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR)

Sub-committee in the categories Best Biotechnology Product and Best Product for Orphan/Rare Disease

Prof Sudha Bhattacharya, INSA Sr. Scientist, Ashoka University
Prof Alok Dhawan, Director, Centre of BioMedical Research, Lucknow
Prof Paramjit Khurana, South Campus, University of Delhi – Convenor
Prof Radha Rangrajan, Director, CDRI-CSIR, Lucknow
Prof Shashibala Singh, Director, NIPER, Hyderabad
Prof Nikhil Tandon, AIIMS, New Delhi
Prof Sudhanshu Vrati, Regional Centre for Biotechnology, Faridabad

Sub-committee in the categories Best Medical Technology (including diagnostics tools), Best StartUp & Digital Health

Prof Madhu Dixit, CDRI, Lucknow
Dr K.R. Suresh Nair, Chief Technology Advisor to Foundation for Innovation and Social Entrepreneurship, an initiative of Tata Trust
Dr V. Premnath, Chief Scientist, Polymer Science & Engineering, NCL. Pune
Prof Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath, Centre for Neuroscience, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
Dr Jitendra Sharma, AMTZ Campus, Visakhapatnam
Dr Rohit Srivastava, IIT, Mumbai – Convenor
Dr Mrutyunjay Suar, DG R&D and Innovation at KIIT University, Bhubaneswar